J. Comput. Inf. Sci. Eng 7(4), 295-297 (Dec 01, 2007) (3 pages) doi:10.1115/1.2816328 History:

JCISE is a multi-disciplinary journal sponsored by two different Divisions of ASME, Computers & Information Engineering (CIE) and Design Engineering (DED), and co-sponsored by two other Divisions, Manufacturing Engineering (MED) and Dynamic System & Controls (DSCD). An Advisory Board representing the sponsors sets policies and monitors major aspects of the journal. The Board oversees the operations of JCISE, including its editorial and review policies, approval of journal scope, approval of appointments for the Editor and Associate Editors. The members of the Board individually and collectively advise the Editor.

The Advisory Board is composed of two nominees from the primary sponsors, the CIE and DED Divisions, one nominee from of the cooperating Divisions (MED, DSCD) and two at-large members, one for Computer Science and the other for Mechanical Engineering. The Editor, or any of the Associate Editors, cannot be members of the Advisory Board. The Chair position rotates annually between CIE and DED representatives. The nominating organizations determine the length of service of their representatives.

The current composition of the Advisory Board is given below.

(Excerpted from JCISE By-Laws)

CIE Representative & Chair, 2007–08Dr. David Lee is with Northrop Grumman Space Technology in Redondo Beach, California. He currently leads its Integrated Concept Development Facility and is Space Vehicle IPT Lead for the AIRSS Program. His research interests include spacecraft design, data and process models for integrated systems engineering and temporal modeling of modular manufacturing processes. He holds a PhD in ME from UCLA. He served on and has chaired the Executive Committee of the CIE Division. Dr. Lee has received numerous awards including Distinguished Service Awards from UCLA and ASME and special performance awards at NGST.leed15@asme.org

DED Representative & Past Chair, 2006–07Professor Bahram Ravani is with the Dept. of Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering at the University of California at Davis. He served as the Dept. Chair from 1996–2001. His research areas are Design, Kinematics, Dynamics, and Bio-mechanics. He received his PhD from Stanford University and he is a fellow of ASME. He has received several awards including the ASME Machine Design Award, the Gustus Larson Memorial Award, and the Design Automation Award as well as the Young Manufacturing Engineering Award from SME.bravani@ucdavis.edu

DED RepresentativeProf. Alan Parkinson is Dean of the College of Engineering and Technology at Brigham Young University. Before his appointment as Dean, he served as an associate dean and also as chair of the Mechanical Engineering Department. Dr. Parkinson received his PhD from University of Illinois. His research interests include optimization algorithms, robust design, DfM, and artificial intelligence applied to engineering design. He is a co-author of a commercial optimization software package, called OptdesX. He was the recipient of the ASME Design Automation Award for his work in robust design and design optimization.parkinson@byu.edu

CIE RepresentativeProf. Yong Se Kim is with Mechanical Engineering at Sungyunkwan University in Korea. He directs the Creative Design Institute and the Creative Design and Intelligent Tutoring Systems Research Center at Sungkyunkwan University. He holds a PhD in ME from Stanford. His research areas are design theory & methodology, design creativity, feature-based design and manufacturing and intelligent tutoring systems. He has served as a member of the Executive Committee of the CIE Division including its Chairmanship.yskim@skku.edu

DSCD representativeProf. David Auslander is with Mechanical Engineering at UC Berkeley. His research areas include: Automatic control system design, mini-microcomputer system bioengineering, modeling and simulation of dynamic systems.dma@me.berkeley.edu

MED RepresentativeDr. Matthew Bement is member of the technical staff at Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL). His interests include structural health monitoring, as well as modeling, monitoring, and control of manufacturing processes relevant to LANL's mission of nuclear stockpile stewardship. He received his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from Texas A&M University. Dr. Bement currently serves on the ASME Manufacturing Engineering Division Executive Committee.bement@lanl.gov

Member at-large MEProf. Paul Wright is with Mechanical Engineering Dept at UC Berkeley, where he also served as the Associate Dean of the College from 1999 to 2005. He is the Co-Director of the Berkeley Manufacturing Institute and the Berkeley Wireless Research Center. His PhD is in Industrial Metallurgy from University of Birmingham , England. His research areas are Computer aided manufacturing, Internet based design and manufacturing, energy scavenging and storage, smart materials, and design of wireless sensor systems. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2007.pwright@kingkong.ME.Berkeley.edu

Member at-large, CSProf. Richard Riesenfeld is at the School of Computing at University of Utah. He is the Co-Director of the Geometric Design & Computing Group. He is a pioneer in the field of computational geometry. His current research areas include: Algorithms, Representations, and High Level Design Operators for Complex Models in Computer Graphics, Telecollaboration in Immersive Environments and Computer Aided Process Planning. His PhD is in Computer Science from Syracuse University.rfr@cs.utah.edu

Copyright © 2007 by American Society of Mechanical Engineers
View article in PDF format.





Some tools below are only available to our subscribers or users with an online account.

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging and repositioning the boxes below.

Related Journal Articles
Related eBook Content
Topic Collections

Sorry! You do not have access to this content. For assistance or to subscribe, please contact us:

  • TELEPHONE: 1-800-843-2763 (Toll-free in the USA)
  • EMAIL: asmedigitalcollection@asme.org
Sign In